Shrimp nets are the Number One killer of sea turtles, including Endangered Kemp’s ridleys.

Industrial shrimp fishing drags funnel-shape trawl nets along the bottom of the ocean, scooping up everything in their path. The shrimp fishery is the world’s most wasteful fishery, capturing and discarding four to ten pounds of marine life for every pound of shrimp harvested.

It’s also the number one cause of U.S. sea turtle and endangered Kemp’s ridley sea turtle deaths.

Join us in asking for new shrimping regulations that protect sea turtles and minimize the collateral damage to a myriad of marine life.

Take Action!

Updates

iSeaTurtle App Expands to Track Turtles Over the Entire Texas Coast

| Gulf of Mexico, News Releases, Sea Turtles | No Comments
For Immediate Release, May 4, 2021 Contacts: Joanie Steinhaus, Gulf Program Director, Turtle Island Restoration Network, joanie@seaturtles.org, 409-795-8426 Sara Carney, Communications Manager, Texas Sea Grant, scarney@tamu.edu, 979-458-8442 iSeaTurtle App Expands…

Groups Sue to Prevent Imperiled Sea Turtles From Drowning in Fishing Nets

| Gulf of Mexico, News Releases, Sea Turtles, Shrimp Nets | No Comments
For Immediate Release, April 6, 2021 Contacts: Todd Steiner, Turtle Island Restoration Network, tsteiner@tirn.net, (415) 488-7652 Chris Eaton, Earthjustice, ceaton@earthjustice.org, (206) 508-7471 Jaclyn Lopez, Center for Biological Diversity, jlopez@biologicaldiversity.org, (727) 490-9190…

Video Shows Rare Interaction Between Jaguars and Endangered Pacific Leatherback Sea Turtle

| News Releases, Save the Leatherback | No Comments
For Immediate Release, April 1, 2021 Contacts: Luis Fonseca, Biologist,  luisfonsecalopez@gmail.com  Mariano Castro, Legal & Policy Analyst, mcastro@seaturtles.org  Video Shows Rare Interaction Between Jaguars and Endangered Pacific Leatherback Sea Turtle…