Board of Directors

Todd Steiner

Executive Director

Todd Steiner is an ecologist and the founder and executive director of Turtle Island Restoration Network, an ocean advocacy and research NGO with offices in California, Texas and Hawaii.

donna howe

Donna Howe

Board Chair

Donna Howe is an environmental conservationist, community volunteer, and avid scuba diver.

Barbara D. Andrews

Turtle Island Board Member

Barbara D. Andrews is a passionate advocate for ocean conservation. She is the legal manager for the California Academy of Sciences.

Carole Allen

Turtle Island Board Member

Carole Allen is the founder and director of Help Endangered Animals - Ridley Turtles (HEART) and manages Turtle Island Restoration Network’s Gulf Office.

Dr. Alex Hearn

Turtle Island Board Member

Dr. Alex Hearn joined Turtle Island as Director of Conservation Science in early 2013, and now serves on our Board of Directors.

Deborah Sivas

Turtle Island Board Member

Deborah (Debbie) Sivas is a leading environmental litigator and director of the highly regarded Stanford Environmental Law Clinic who balances her practice of law with an MS in Ecology.


Todd Steiner

Executive Director

Todd Steiner is an ecologist and the founder and executive director of Turtle Island Restoration Network, an ocean advocacy and research NGO with offices in California, Texas and Hawaii.

Scott Artis

Managing Director

Scott Artis joined the Turtle Island Restoration Network staff in 2018 and brings more than a decade’s worth of experience spanning for-profit and nonprofit sectors in wildlife conservation, habitat protection, biotech, management and fundraising.

Preston Brown

Director of Watershed Conservation

Preston Brown is a watershed biologist and project manager with Turtle Island Restoration Network's Salmon Protection And Watershed Network (SPAWN).

Joanie Steinhaus

Gulf Program Director

Joanie Steinhaus attended Houston Community College in Houston Texas studying Animal Health Management and Veterinary Technology.

Audrey Fusco

Plant Nursery Manager

Audrey is the manager of the SPAWN native plant nursery and an enthusiastic supporter of ecological restoration.

Theresa Morris

Gulf Program Coordinator

Theresa Morris is the nest patrol volunteer coordinator for the Upper Texas Coast Sea Turtle Patrol.

Rebekah Staub

Communications Director

Rebekah Staub joins Turtle Island from Golden, Colorado.

Stepph Sharpe

Development Manager

Stepph Sharpe is the Development Manager at Turtle Island Restoration Network.

Andrew Scott

Membership & Office Manager

Andrew grew up on the shores of New Zealand's Manukau harbor and spent countless childhood hours examining the creatures of the tidal mudflats.

Harry McGrath

Outreach Coordinator

By facilitating connections with nature, Harry seeks to help people become stewards of our environment.

Ayano Hayes

Watershed Biologist

Ayano strives to protect and restore the natural environment through action, education, and connection.

Annalisa Batanides Tuel

Policy & Advocacy Manager

Annalisa is an environmental attorney and policy analyst working to create holistic habitat uplift by focusing on imperiled marine and anadromous species.


Savannah Mangold

Habitat Restoration Intern

Savannah is a California native, born and raised in the foothills of the Sierra Nevada mountains.

Bryce King

Habitat Restoration Intern

Bryce is an environmental engineer and outdoor enthusiast who is passionate about improving ecological function by restoring riparian habitat.

Jonathan Jackson

Habitat Restoration Intern

Jonathan is a recent biology graduate from Virginia who loves plant ecology.

Elizabeth Purcell

Communications Intern

Elizabeth is currently studying environmental science with an aquatic biology tract.

Livia Charles

Admin & Advocacy Intern

Livia is a recent college grad originally from California.

Science and Policy Advisory Board

César Peñaherrera, Ph.D

César Peñaherrera is an Ecuadorian Marine Biologist specialized in Quantitative Marine Science (QMS) and currently serves as the Academic Director at Pontifical Catholic University of Ecuador – Manabí.

Frank Paladino, Ph.D

Frank Paladino is the Biology Department Chair and Professor at Indiana University- Purdue University Fort Wayne.

Myra Finkelstein, Ph.D

Myra Finkelstein is a David H. Smith Conservation Fellow at the University of California Santa Cruz whose research focuses on human impacts on marine ecosystems.

Kerstin Forsberg

Kerstin Forsberg is the Founder and Director of Planeta Océano, a growing marine conservation non-profit based in Lima, Peru.

Jonathan R. Green

Jonathan R. Green

Jonathan R. Green is a Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society of London as well as a notable photographer.

Wallace J. Nichols, Ph.D

Wallace J. Nichols is a Research Associate at California Academy of Sciences and founder/co-director of Ocean Revolution, an international network of young ocean advocates and author nearly 100 publications on ocean ecology

William Loftus, Ph.D

William Loftus is the President of Aquatic Research & Communication, LLC, which involves different institutions and agencies to restore fish communities via sampling techniques and communication of scientific issues

George Shillinger, Ph.D

George Shillinger is the Executive Director of The Leatherback Trust. He has worked in environmental conservation since 1986.

Boris Worm, Ph.D

Boris Worm is a Biology Professor at Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia. He is a Marine Research Ecologist whose lab includes students and postdoctoral fellows studying the causes, consequences of change, and conservation of marine biodiversity.

Deb Castellana

Deb Castellana is the Director of Strategic Partnerships for the Sylvia Earle Alliance / Mission Blue.

Shaya Honarvar, Ph.D

Shaya Honarvar is the Founder and Director of the Bioko Marine Turtle Program, a Research Associate at Purdue University Fort Wayne, and affiliate graduate faculty at the University of Hawai'i.

Mark Stabb, Ph.D

Mark Stabb is a professional engineer, small business owner, environmental conservationist and long time scuba divemaster.

Mariano Castro

Mariano Castro is a Costa Rican lawyer with an LLM in public international law from Leiden University, and current candidate for a Mphil in Conservation Leadership in Cambridge University.

Kevin Weng, Ph.D

Kevin Weng is an Associate Professor at College of William & Mary Virginia Institute of Marine Science where he studies the impact of fisheries on sharks and other marine species.