tirn-sign

Upcoming Turtle Island Events/Screenings

Come and join Turtle Island Restoration Network in a series of film screening during Earth Week 2005. Below is a listing of the events:

Friday, April 22nd at 7:30 PM-
Bookbeat- 28 Bolinas Rd. Fairfax, CA
Donation Requested (but no one turned away for lack of funds)

Sea Turtles and Mercury- Making the Connection
This evening will include the screening of Last Journey for the Leatherback which highlights that plight of the Pacific leatherback sea turtle and a PBS NOW episode focused on mercury in seafood. The films will be followed by question and answers and for those interested, a short meeting focused on taking action.
For more information contact Andy Peri (andy@tirn.net) or at 415-488-0370 x104 or cell 415-601-2434

Earth Day 2005- Celebrate, Educate, Activate
Sunday, April 24th, 1:00-1:45
College of Marin
835 College Ave., Kentfield
Admission is free

Got Mercury? Protecting yourself from Mercury 
This afternoon event will feature the PBS NOW program episode on mercury in fish and be followed by a discussion led by Andy Peri of Turtle Island Restoration Network’s Mercury Awareness Program. The discussion will focus on taking action at the local and international levels to protect public health and the oceans.
For more information contact Andy Peri (andy@tirn.net) or at 415-488-0370 x104 or cell 415-601-2434

Earth Day 2005- Celebrate, Educate, Activate
Sunday, April 24th, 4:00-4:45
College of Marin
835 College Ave., Kentfield
Admission is free

Saving the Leatherback Globally by Acting Locally
This event will feature the screening of Last Journey for the Leatherback followed by a discussion about sea turtles, longline fishing and what you can do to help protect the turtles from extinction.
For more information contact Andy Peri (andy@tirn.net) or at 415-488-0370 x104 or cell 415-601-2434

More information about Earth Day 2005 at College of Marin
Sunday, April 24 from 10 am to 5 pm
College of Marin
835 College Ave., Kentfield
Admission is free

http://www.MarinEarthDay.org

415.456.3469 ext. 2#

On Sunday, April 24, upwards of 1000 people will join Marin County’s Earth Day 2005 celebration at the College of Marin. The all-day event will feature a full lineup of hands-on activities and entertainment geared towards families, children and teens. Entertainment will include everything from high school talents in music, dance and poetry to professional acrobatics, musicians and jugglers. Featured speakers include Ocean Robbins and Kevin Danaher, and up to 100 green businesses and organizations – including a dozen artists and craftspeople – will be on hand to showcase exciting eco-friendly products, services and campaigns.

Activities for families and teens will offer real opportunities to get dirty, get involved, and get inspired, including Ride n’ Seek – a Rolling Treasure Hunt – and workshops teaching people how to make real change in their community by fostering better nutrition, growing organic food, making better transportation choices, and greening our homes, businesses and schools. In addition, activities celebrating the concept of reuse and recycling will offer craft and public art opportunities for the whole family throughout the day. Community members will also have the chance to participate in discussions and service activities throughout the entire weekend.

This event is produced by Next Generation, Safe Routes to Schools, the Marin County Bicycle Coalition, the Marin food Systems Project (a project of the Environmental Education Council of Marin), and the Marin Conservation Corp, in conjunction with the City of San Rafael City Volunteer Program. The week before the festival, each of the event’s four sponsoring organizations will offer in-the-classroom presentations around Marin County, as well as community-based events.

We invite you to participate in Marin Earth Day 2005 by sponsoring the event, exhibiting, offering a workshop or a hands-on demonstration, volunteering your time, and of course by attending and bringing your children, students and friends. Stay up to date on-line at http://www.MarinEarthDay.org

CONTACT
For information or questions about sponsorships and exhibiting, please contact Danielle LaVigna at Next Generation at 415.455.9498 or email marinearthday@hotmail.com. For information or questions about volunteering, contact Sandy Miles at the Marin Conservation Corps at 415.454.4554 or email smiles@marincc.org. For information or questions about the festival program or presenting a workshop, contact Melanie Grubman at MCBC / Safe Routes to Schools at 456.3469 ext 2# or email melanie@marinbike.org

MARIN EARTH DAY 2005 SPONSORS
Marin Earth Day 2005 is made possible by the following generous sponsors. They have contributed to the success of this event, and we are excited to help them build a greener world. We encourage you to check them out on-line, visit their festival booth and support their efforts!

Mt. Tam Major Partner
* Marin County Board of Supervisors: http://www.co.marin.ca.us/depts/BS/main/index.cfm

Redwood Leadership Partners:
* Pax World Funds: http://www.paxworld.com/
* Marin Sanitary Service: http://www.marinsanitary.com/
* Bank of Marin: http://www.bankofmarin.com/

Cascade Canyon Community Sponsors:
* Marin Coffee Roasters
* Green Builders of Marin: http://www.greenbuildersofmarin.com
* Cody’s Books: http://www.codysbooks.com
* KPFA Radio: http://www.kpfa.org/
* Green Light Solar: http://www.greenlightsolar.com/
* Marin Solar: http://www.marinsolar.com/
* Clif Bar: http://www.clifbar.com/
* Marin Community Foundation & the Earth Day Every Day Fund: http://www.marincf.org/index.cfm

Local Business Sponsors:
* Adam Chew Design: http://www.adamchew.com/adam_chew.pdf
* Big Tadoo Puppet Crew
* XtraCycle: http://www.xtracycle.com
* Copy Express (4th and Lincoln in San Rafael – 454.8240)
* Calvert-Social Equity Group: http://www.calvertgroup.com/
* WildLife Works: http://www.wildlifeworks.com
* Poli Point Press: http://www.polipointpress.org
* Green Fusion: http://www.greenfusiondesigncenter.com/
* Marchant Chapman: http://www.marchantchapman.com/communities.htm
* Cooperative Community Energy: http://www.ccenergy.com/index.html
* Eco Timber: http://www.ecotimber.com/
* Breezer Bikes: http://www.breezerbikes.com
* Bikram Yoga San Rafael: http://www.yogaloka.net
* Tamalpais Nature Works: http://www.tamalpais.com

Marin Earth Day’s Organizational Sponsors are:
* Students for Social Responsibility at COM:
* Global Exchange: http://www.globalexchange.org/
* Marin Agricultural Land Trust & Marin Agricultural Education Alliance: http://www.malt.org/
* California Clean Money Campaign: http://www.caclean.org/
* Green Sangha: http://www.greensangha.org/
* Sierra Club Marin Group: http://sanfranciscobay.sierraclub.org/Marin/Index.htm
* In Defense of Animals: http://www.idausa.org/
* Mill Valley Seniors for Peace: http://www.mvseniorsforpeace.org/
* Marin Conservation League: http://www.conservationleague.org/
* Marin Peace & Justice Coalition: http://www.mpjc.org/
* Environmental Health Network: http://users.lmi.net/~wilworks/ehnindex.htm
* Marin Link: http://www.marinlink.org/Home.aspx
* Youth Leadership Institute: http://www.yli.org

Individual sponsors:
* Suzie Jestadt with Bedrock Music

Special Thanks:
* Pacific Sun: http://www.pacificsun.com/
* Marin IJ: http://www.marinij.com/