To prevent many species of sea turtles from going extinct in our lifetime, sea turtles need to be protected throughout their lifecycles.

Since our earliest days, Turtle Island Restoration Network has worked with community volunteers and partner organizations to protect nesting females, eggs and baby sea turtles on beaches in places like Nicaragua, Texas, Costa Rica, Australia and Papua New Guinea.

Through our efforts, we’ve created a National Wildlife Refuge in Nicaragua to protect the most important olive ridley sea turtle nesting beach, and created six community-based beach nesting projects in Costa Rica. Today, we’ve recruited and coordinated thousands of volunteers to patrol more than 16,000 miles of beach on the Upper Texas Coast for nesting Kemp’s ridley sea turtles.

Help us work to protect critical sea turtle nesting beaches and baby hatchlings by symbolically adopting a nest of sea turtle hatchlings for yourself or a loved one.

Adopt a Nest

Take Action!

Updates

iSeaTurtle App Expands to Track Turtles Over the Entire Texas Coast

| Gulf of Mexico, News Releases, Sea Turtles | No Comments
For Immediate Release, May 4, 2021 Contacts: Joanie Steinhaus, Gulf Program Director, Turtle Island Restoration Network, joanie@seaturtles.org, 409-795-8426 Sara Carney, Communications Manager, Texas Sea Grant, scarney@tamu.edu, 979-458-8442 iSeaTurtle App Expands…

Groups Sue to Prevent Imperiled Sea Turtles From Drowning in Fishing Nets

| Gulf of Mexico, News Releases, Sea Turtles, Shrimp Nets | No Comments
For Immediate Release, April 6, 2021 Contacts: Todd Steiner, Turtle Island Restoration Network, tsteiner@tirn.net, (415) 488-7652 Chris Eaton, Earthjustice, ceaton@earthjustice.org, (206) 508-7471 Jaclyn Lopez, Center for Biological Diversity, jlopez@biologicaldiversity.org, (727) 490-9190…

Video Shows Rare Interaction Between Jaguars and Endangered Pacific Leatherback Sea Turtle

| News Releases, Save the Leatherback | No Comments
For Immediate Release, April 1, 2021 Contacts: Luis Fonseca, Biologist,  luisfonsecalopez@gmail.com  Mariano Castro, Legal & Policy Analyst, mcastro@seaturtles.org  Video Shows Rare Interaction Between Jaguars and Endangered Pacific Leatherback Sea Turtle…